AgroÉnergie

Environmental engineering

Phytoremediation refers to a group of technologies that exploit the natural absorption and hyperaccumulation capabilities of some plant species to reduce, degrade or immobilize organic or inorganic compounds that are generated by human activities and detrimental to soil, water or ail quality.

Scientific studies have demonstrated the filtering capability of willow root systems and leave open the possibility for applications in the field of wastewater treatment, nutrient recycling of municipal or industrial sludges, and the elimination landfill leachates.

schema

Using SRWC for wastewater phytoremediation

Looking to demonstrate the potential use of willow for phtyoremediation, in 2008 Agro Énergie instigated  a project to use SRWC as a natural filtering system for wastewater treatment. Since 2010, more than 10000 m3 of secondary wastewater produced by the municipality of St-Roch-de-l’Achigan has been purified using this system, while creating a new fuel alternative for the heating of the local primary school.

The winter hardiness and growth vigor of willow has other applications in the field of environmental engineering. Being a staple pioneer plant species, willow is often used for land rehabilitation, soil erosion control and riparian buffer strips.

AgroÉnergie

Génie environnemental

La phytorémédiation réfère à un ensemble de technologies mettant à profit la capacité d’absorption et d’hyperaccumulation de certains végétaux pour la réduction, la dégradation ou l’immobilisation des composés organiques et inorganiques polluants du sol, de l’eau ou de l’air générés par les activités humaines.

Des études scientifiques permirent entre autres de constater le pouvoir filtrant du système racinaire du saule à croissance rapide, permettant d’envisager son utilisation dans l’assainissement des eaux usées, la valorisation de matières résiduelles fertilisantes (boues d’épuration, biosolides papetiers, etc.) et l’élimination de lixiviat généré par les sites d’enfouissement de déchets.

schema

Laboratoire rural de St-Roch-de-L’Achigan

Désirant démontrer le potentiel du saule en phytorémédiation, Agro Énergie fut l’instigatrice en 2008 d’un projet de filtration naturelle d’eaux usées par l’irrigation de cultures de saule dédiées au chauffage d’une école primaire. Depuis 2010, plus de 10000 m3 d’eaux usées secondaires produites par la municipalité de St-Roch-de-l’Achigan ont été traitées annuellement par ce système.

Plante pionnière par excellence en raison de sa rusticité et de sa vigueur de croissance, le saule est également employé pour la réhabilitation de sites dégradés, la stabilisation des berges et l’implantation de bandes riveraines en milieu agricole.